“OVERSCHEDULED RETIREE” IS NOT AN OXYMORON

One thing I looked forward to in retirement was an untainted calendar, rows of empty days to be filled however I wished. Retired folks I knew told me they were “busier than ever,” but how was that even possible? It sounded ridiculous but it has turned out to be true. Age muscles in, bearing its own agenda.

The following poem is an OTTAVA RIMA, which is, for all intents and purposes, a miniature sonnet. In case you are busy (like me) and don’t have time to write a full-length one. Thanks, Muri, for taking it easy on us (a little) as your Poetry Month Challenge winds down.

 

AS BUSY AS EVER

On Mondays, weekly shots for allergies
On Tuesdays, chiropractic for my back
On Wednesday mornings, I must do PT
because I threw my shoulder out of whack
On Thursdays, social worker sees hubby
The calendar’s perpetually jam-packed
But Fridays stay reserved in all this mess,
for therapy to reckon with the stress

8 thoughts on ““OVERSCHEDULED RETIREE” IS NOT AN OXYMORON

  1. Tippy Gnu April 27, 2022 / 7:05 am

    If only we could be paid for all the stuff we do while retired. Heck, then we could really retire.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan April 27, 2022 / 7:10 am

      Usually it’s the other way around… we pay to do stuff and it’s stuff we don’t even really want to be doing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tippy Gnu April 27, 2022 / 9:40 am

        If we’re paying to do that kind of stuff, I want a senior citizen’s discount.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Just Joan April 27, 2022 / 9:46 am

        Never hurts to ask! Most cashiers can do 10% without involving a manager. If I’m going to live with gray hair and an AARP card in my wallet in my 50’s, I might as well make the most of it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. murisopsis April 27, 2022 / 8:12 am

    Joan I am so pleased that you are doing the scavenger hunt! Your humor and skills make this so much fun for me!! I love this one it is such an accurate picture of my life!! I am busier than ever – Doctor appts, ceramics class, a 2 hour teaching gig, people over for dinner, going over to son’s for Spring cleaning, setting up for the garage sale, baby shower, food pantry stocking, church meeting… it never ends!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Just Joan April 27, 2022 / 8:46 am

      Your life seems well-rounded, more than just a jumble of appointments. Not everything on your list appeals to me, but a ceramics class or volunteer gig could be fun. I’m having fun with your challenge (more so with you and Saintvi writing and posting alongside me) and I’m glad you are enjoying the results. One more to go…

      Like

  3. judyrutrider April 28, 2022 / 12:58 am

    I recently figured out why people retire. I used to think it was so they would have time to travel and enjoy their golden years. The reality is that all the doctor’s appointments interfere with a regular work schedule. Add that to needing an afternoon nap and growing cranky and less circumspect in what comes out of our mouths, we become less and less valuable as employees. Or maybe that’s just me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan April 28, 2022 / 5:47 am

      Maybe you’re right. The people at the DMV who have been there forever are a perfect example of why we need to retire: cranky, slow, half asleep, and the office is understaffed because of all the sick leave for doctor appts.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.