WHAT’S AN 8-LETTER WORD FOR SWISS CHEESE OF THE BRAIN?

My friend Muri’s National Poetry Month challenge is winding down.  For more information, click on this link:  https://murisopsis.wordpress.com/2023/03/31/looking-at-nonce-forms-for-npm/ .  My muse has had her knickers in a knot over this American Sentence prompt.  She likes writing sentences but apparently, not ones that are exactly seventeen syllables.  Everything she gave me had to be lengthened or shortened, as if I was some kind of sentence tailor.  The flag never appeared, so my patriotic bonus went out the window.

I had no clue what subject deserved such painstaking attention.  I tried fashioning hysterically complex coffee bar orders into sentences, but seventeen syllables barely covered the basics:  which item, which size, hot or iced, flavors, what kind of milk, etc.  Iced café latte grande made with almond milk and two pumps of vanilla, for instance, is nineteen syllables.  And pretty ordinary.  Whenever I am stumped and feeling like a failure as a writer, I open a new document in Word and start a letter to my sister—the one person who believes in me and treasures every word that comes from my keyboard, no matter how pedestrian.  In this space, a sentence can end abruptly or hijack a whole paragraph.  I sit searching for words more than I used to.  They were once readily accessible; now they play hide-and-seek in my gray matter and my neural circuitry must go all round the mulberry bush trying to find them.  Technology, for all its faults, has been a huge help.  If I plug a similar word into the built-in thesaurus, or Google whatever bizarre clue my brain spits out, I often luck out and the word I want appears.

BRAIN-FARTS

It used to just aggravate me when I couldn’t remember a word.
Now, I worry it’s the beginning of…   …   that disease old people get.
The Swiss cheese brain disease you can ward off by doing crossword puzzles.
Or those…   …   Japanese-sounding number grid thingies my dad used to do.
You can’t just park yourself by the TV and watch Judge Judy all day.
Do that, you’ll end up in a…   …   place where dessert is always green Jell-O.
Roundabout, the paths my gray matter follows when a word goes missing.
And yet, your gray matter figures it out, deftly filling in the gaps.

11 thoughts on “WHAT’S AN 8-LETTER WORD FOR SWISS CHEESE OF THE BRAIN?

  1. churchmousie April 26, 2023 / 7:57 am

    I LOVE THIS! Probably because it’s exactly what MY brain is doing, and how I feel about it, chuckle. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan April 26, 2023 / 9:48 am

      Thanks, Churchmousie. The gaps get wider with age, but we still manage to make ourselves understood, don’t we? Particularly distressing for a writer!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tippy Gnu April 26, 2023 / 8:40 am

    Maybe your brain needs more motivation. If only poetry was a profession that paid well. Say, a dollar per syllable.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan April 26, 2023 / 9:45 am

      If only muses cared about money!!! Alas, they produce if, when, and how they want.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tippy Gnu April 26, 2023 / 10:57 am

        So true. They’re very fickle. They’d make lousy employees.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. murisopsis April 26, 2023 / 10:11 am

    Joan! This is not only amusing but has that… …French phrase that means a something that you can’t describe. Anyway it is special and I mean really good not special like needing extra help. I hope you and your Swiss cheese brain continue to make quiche Lorraine poetry because it is really that good (better than quiche even)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan April 26, 2023 / 10:20 am

      Je ne sais quoi? LOL, Muri, thanks for playing along. I’ll try to keep the poetic quiches coming. I’m sad your NPM challenge is ending. It’s been a great motivator.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. snoozing on the sofa April 27, 2023 / 2:49 pm

    I lose my words all the time, and many of them are my children’s names. They fill in the blanks when I point at them. Also, when I start yelling about something, they all know which one is to blame, so that helps me not need to remember the words that are their names.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan April 27, 2023 / 3:03 pm

      I think all parents suffer some name confusion when they yell. Every kid was called a brother or sister’s name, Hey You, Shorty, The One Closest to the TV (to change the channel back before remotes existed), etc. Isn’t that right, Swiss Cheese Guy?

      Like

    • Just Joan May 2, 2023 / 3:54 am

      Thanks, KE. My muse had been quiet for a while, but Muri’s National Poetry Month challenges get her revved up.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.