DIVIDE AND CONQUER

I’m munching my way through my friend Muri’s National Poetry Month challenge.  If you would like to join in the fun, the challenges (involving a delectable variety of “nonce” forms) are spelled out in her post: https://murisopsis.wordpress.com/2023/03/31/looking-at-nonce-forms-for-npm/

Below are my poems for prompt #5, Troiku.  You pick a haiku and use each line as the first line of another haiku.  The base haiku I chose isn’t famous (at least, I don’t think it is) but it was the grand prize winner in the 2017 Literal Latte food poetry contest.  (Yours truly walked away with $500 for a group of three food haikus, including this one.)  To be honest, it felt kind of weird to separate what I had joined and let each line take on a life of its own.

I’m not doing the prompts in order, by the way.  Just cherry picking (as it were) from the list.

THE MOTHER SHIP

Two lone cherries hang
from a branch near the bike path
Well, not anymore

THE ORBITING RUGRATS

Two lone cherries hang
easily within my reach
Neighbor won’t miss them

From a branch near the bike path
a lone sock dangles, catching its breath
having escaped the dryer

“Well, not anymore,”
she says, setting a boundary
Her shrink would be proud

6 thoughts on “DIVIDE AND CONQUER

  1. Tippy Gnu April 8, 2023 / 3:32 pm

    Very inspiring. Now I want to eat some cherries, ride a bike, and make out with someone.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Just Joan April 8, 2023 / 3:51 pm

      Purloined cherries taste the best. For months last summer, I saw the same child-sized sock lying on the sidewalk every day when I walked my dog. I guess the little guy was eventually apprehended by the Sock Police. Make out with someone??? Why? Do boundaries turn you on?

      Liked by 2 people

      • Tippy Gnu April 8, 2023 / 6:03 pm

        My wife sets the boundaries. Basically they are that I can make out with her, but not with anyone else. I don’t know about this turning me on, but it’s probably saved me from a few diseases.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. murisopsis April 9, 2023 / 4:05 pm

    Joan you once again made it look easy!! I love your Troiku – with the blending of purloined cherries, runaway socks, and boundaries!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Just Joan April 9, 2023 / 5:08 pm

      Thanks, Muri. I was hoping for cherry pie for Easter but was not disappointed by strawberry and lemon meringue. I think the trick with Troiku is to see each line afresh. Hope your Easter was blessed and happy.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.