THE MOTHER OF ALL ORCHIDS

The RISPETTO is an Italian poetry form comprised of two quatrains written in iambic tetrameter built on a rhyme scheme of ababccdd or abababcc.  Alternatively, each line could have 11 unmetered syllables and follow either rhyme scheme.  The Rispetto is traditionally used to pay respect to a woman, so it seemed an apt choice for Mother’s Day, and my orchid seemed the perfect subject as she is putting forth new buds (again!) before her petals fade.  I swear she must have set some kind of record, having “chain-bloomed” five times since her last rest period.  Hats off to her, and to all hardworking mothers everywhere.

AGAIN

My orchid is a tearful mother
putting her youngest on the bus
Deep inside, she craves another
to soothe her aching emptiness

an instinct she cannot control,
a tiny bud would make her whole,
she argues with herself and wins
then pollinates, producing twins

Click HERE to see my previous posts about Mother Orchid.

Have a comment?  Click HERE to share it!

13 thoughts on “THE MOTHER OF ALL ORCHIDS

  1. chevvy8 May 14, 2017 / 7:04 am

    You know that she keeps blooming because you pay her attention and she feels your love and I’m not just talking about the orchid. Very well done on the poem both in structure, your beautiful orchid and layers of meaning! Here’s wishing you a wonderful day my dear friend!❤️💞

    Liked by 3 people

    • Just Joan May 14, 2017 / 1:11 pm

      Thanks, Chevvy. It’s been a joy to watch her blossom, and in paying attention, I have learned her pattern. I’ll enjoy it as long as it lasts, then grant her some well-deserved rest. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • chevvy8 May 14, 2017 / 1:29 pm

        Oh I’ve watched your orchid’s grow with you. Mine surprise me now and then but I can take lessons from you in giving them more attention. Enjoy the moments for as
        long as they last!😀

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Tippy Gnu May 14, 2017 / 1:36 pm

    I understand that I was an accident, and not the product of such angst-filled planning. Beautiful poem, but I’d relate more to a poem about the Holy Trojans.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Just Joan May 14, 2017 / 3:03 pm

      Thanks, Tippy. If you were an accident, you were a FORTUITOUS accident. Serendipity often comes packaged in a Holy Trojan. Thanks for coming by, hope life is treating you well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan May 14, 2017 / 2:59 pm

      Thanks, Marissa. Rispetto sounds like something that would be sold next to the Gelato… maybe nut-covered and on a stick. 🙂

      Like

  3. Peter Klopp May 14, 2017 / 7:11 pm

    Normally I feel challenged to follow your example. But this being Mother’s Day my attention today goes to my wife, mother of five wonderful sons. Great poem, Joan!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Just Joan May 15, 2017 / 12:47 pm

      Thanks, Peter! You could write a Rispetto FOR or ABOUT your wife, if you were so inclined. Five sons? Goodness, your wife is as busy as my orchid! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Peter Klopp May 15, 2017 / 3:13 pm

        Fortunately, they are grown-ups now and doing well. Thanks for your kind comment, Joan!

        Liked by 2 people

  4. L. T. Garvin, Author May 16, 2017 / 10:36 pm

    I like the name, Rispetto also and next to the Gelato would be just fine, ha ha. Lovely verse it is. It truly tugged at my heart, the personification of the Orchid putting her youngest on the bus…I have vivid memories of that. Time does fly, sigh. A nice Mother’s Day tribute, Joan.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Just Joan May 17, 2017 / 10:46 am

      Thanks, Lana. Glad this brought back (bittersweet?) memories for you. Hope your Mother’s Day was joyous and restful. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.