A MIRROR OF OUR VALUES

In a Palindromic Poem, the order of the words and/or phrases used in the first half of the poem is reversed to form the second half.  A single word or phrase may bridge the two halves.  Even though one half is straightforward and logical and the other half is backwards, both sides make sense, and form a unified whole.  Kind of like America.  Before you cast your ballot, think about what you believe in, what you stand for, what kind of future you want to see.  Much depends on your decision.

voting-booth

MOMENTOUS

In the voting booth,
what happens
hinges upon
everything
I believe
b e c a u s e
I believe
everything
hinges upon
what happens
in the voting booth

Have a comment?  Click HERE to share it!

15 thoughts on “A MIRROR OF OUR VALUES

  1. Tippy Gnu November 5, 2016 / 10:42 pm

    Very clever. You must have had to screw your thinking cap on real tight to come up with this one.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Peter Klopp November 5, 2016 / 11:23 pm

    Well done! Outstanding if you consider how difficult it is to write such a poem!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan November 6, 2016 / 10:37 am

      My sentiments exactly. But I won’t bow out, just do the best I can with the crap hand I’ve been dealt. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. T. Wayne November 6, 2016 / 10:35 am

    I like this one Joan! I can only imagine how difficult it was to come up with this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan November 6, 2016 / 10:43 am

      Thanks, T Wayne. That’s why the poem is so short–LOL! To calm my pre-election nerves, I got an adult coloring book and wield my colored pencils on the pages while listening to jazz and funk on your WP site. Very relaxing, thanks for that. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • T. Wayne November 6, 2016 / 10:44 am

        You’re welcome, Joan, and thank you for reading and listening.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.