JUST JOAN IN A NUTSHELL #MyFirstPostRevisited

Thanks to T WAYNE at A JOYFUL PROCESS for nominating me for
the “My First Blog Post” challenge. The challenge was created by
Sarah Brentyn of the Lemon Shark blog.  Below are the rules:

Obvious rules:
1.  No cheating.  (It must be your FIRST post, no exceptions.)
2.  Link back to the person who tagged you.
(Thank them, or perhaps curse them with a plague of ladybugs).

Other rules:
3.  Cut and paste your old post into a new post or reblog it.
(Either way is fine but NO editing.)
4.  Put the hashtag #MyFirstPostRevisited in your title.
5.  Tag 5 other bloggers to take up this challenge.
6.  Notify your tags in the comment section of their blog.
(Don’t just hope they notice a pingback somewhere in their spam).
7.  Feel free to cut and paste the badge to use in your post.
8.  Include “the rules” in your post.

I am not going to nominate fellow bloggers (honestly, the last thing I need is a plague of ladybugs), but if any of you wish to share your first post, go ahead, and consider it sanctioned by me.

OK, HERE GOES… A Just Joan 42 blast from the past!
(We’re not talking eons, just 18 months ago.  Mine is still a baby blog).

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

When I retired last year, I enrolled in a poetry class at our local college. What I sought was a way to pass the time and nurture my lifelong love of writing.  What I found was myself.  And now you have found me.  By way of introduction, I have concocted this little “recipe” poem:

ME IN A NUTSHELL

1 head naturally curly hair, salted and peppered
1 big mouth
2 cups French press coffee
1 unique perspective
1 notebook
1 pen
1 extra-large heart
1 avocado
1 library card
1 pair Birkenstocks (socks optional)

Combine with a crazy husband, two rescue dogs, and one stray cat in a small but organized house.  Add a yearning for simplicity and a dash of environmentalism, then ask yourself “What Would Jesus Do?”  Pour into a casserole dish and top with French fried onions.  Slide it into the oven and set the dial to NPR.  While it bakes, go hug a tree and perform a random act of kindness.  Take it out before it’s done and shove it in the closet with all the other unfinished projects.  Grab a glass of Moscato, ignore the TV, and curl up on the couch with a good book.

Have a comment?  Click HERE to share it!

21 thoughts on “JUST JOAN IN A NUTSHELL #MyFirstPostRevisited

    • Just Joan March 13, 2017 / 2:36 pm

      Thanks, Marissa. Moscato is kind of my summer thing; maybe a steaming coffee with Kahlua for winter. Other than that, I wouldn’t amend a thing. Hey, you should revisit your first blog post! I hereby nominate you 🙂

      Like

  1. T. Wayne March 13, 2017 / 1:47 pm

    What a lovely post, and a great recipe! Thanks, Joan for participating!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan March 13, 2017 / 2:39 pm

      Thanks, T Wayne, for challenging me to unearth this. It is still one of my favorites. Everything is better topped with French fried onions, yes? Have a lovely day, enjoy the coming snow! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • T. Wayne March 13, 2017 / 9:05 pm

        Where I live, I don’t think we’ll get that much snow. In fact, I’m almost certain we’ll be going in tomorrow on time. Maybe if we get some sleet mixed in, but if it’s just rain with a little snow, I’ll take that, but I think I’d rather have the day off (don’t want my bosses to know though) LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ursula Kender March 13, 2017 / 2:01 pm

    That is the Joan I know. Couldn’t have put it better.
    Ursula

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan March 13, 2017 / 2:42 pm

      Thanks, Ursula. I wrote it a year and half ago and it still rings true; I wouldn’t change a word. Thanks for being an avid supporter of my blog from Day 1, everyone needs a few cheerleaders. 🙂

      Like

  3. circumstance227 March 13, 2017 / 4:53 pm

    This challenge is far too complex for me to comply – but I love your first post! (And you are very talented in breaking blog award/challenge chains in a charming way!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan March 13, 2017 / 8:21 pm

      Thanks, 227. That really is me in a nutshell. As for deftly skirting the chain, I’m not sure what a “pingback” is or how it would end up in someone’s spam file, so I just skipped the nominating part. Other than #1 and #2, the rules are pretty fluid, so maybe just think about doing it? How cringe-worthy could your first post be? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • circumstance227 March 16, 2017 / 4:25 pm

        Believe it or not, I am still guided by my very first post. It defined me as a Mom/Teacher(Traveler/(and now) Writer telling her stories. And that, I think, is me and my blog in a nutshell.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Quirky Girl March 13, 2017 / 5:17 pm

    1 big mouth
2 cups French press coffee
1 unique perspective

    This combination alone seems like a winning recipe for success! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. L. T. Garvin, Author March 14, 2017 / 11:24 pm

    What a cute description, Joan! I don’t think I have ever written a description of myself, ha ha. We would get along so well, of course, I already knew that, but with the animals, tree hugging, books, libraries, etc. I’m a tea person, though…not so much on coffee. I love this one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan March 15, 2017 / 11:36 am

      Tea? What’s that? If the human body is 2/3 water, at least 1/3 of mine is brown and caffeinated! So, what’s the recipe for Lana? Or Aunt Agnes? Maybe you will share them with us one day. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • L. T. Garvin, Author March 15, 2017 / 12:03 pm

        Aunt Agnes might have one, I strongly suspect she is a fan of good ol’ southern sweet ice tea. I do unsweetened tea adding in a bag of green tea for health. I do like the sweet, but I’ll save the calories for the donut case 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Just Joan March 15, 2017 / 5:57 pm

        Yeah, sweet tea helps the “nerve pills” go down. Though I suspect from her personality, she probably likes lemon in it, too. She sips it slowly while watching Judge Judy, waiting for the BioFreeze on her knee to kick in, and planning her strategy for the next Domino match. If she isn’t accidentally abducted by outer space landscapers, that is! Hee hee. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

