MORE AAACKS THAN BILL THE CAT!

A great place to utilize poetry is in writing SONG LYRICS, our Tower Group assignment for the next meeting.  My answer to the challenge is a simple limerick series (like last week) with a refrain.  More Trump bashing?  You betcha.  If “the Donald” wants us to quit roasting him,
he needs to stop pouring gasoline on the fire.  “When you put it that way, it sounds like a pack of blatant, stupid lies,” someone remarked.  Umm, yeah.  That’s pretty much the definition of “alternative facts.”

donald-1

JUST OUT OF BRAIN-WASHINGTON
(From Trump’s Lips to Your Ears)

Refrain:
Believe in alternative facts
Whoopee for alternative facts!
Put the truth on the shelf
and keep telling yourself
“I believe in alternative facts”

Believe in alternative facts
All you need is alternative facts
Disregard honesty
and repeat after me
“I believe in alternative facts”

Verses:
My inaugural crowd was so vast,
it’s sure to remain unsurpassed
That people would think
a few marchers in pink
had outdone us, that leaves me aghast
(Refrain)

My cabinet’s filling up fast
and seats for advisory staff
A fluke that their owners
are generous donors
who stuffed my campaign’s Super-PAC
(Refrain)

The intrusion by Soviet hacks
to manipulate votes that were cast
was nothing but rumor,
a scheming maneuver,
pioneered by irate Democrats
(Refrain)

Shut up with the yakkity-yaks
about showing returns from my tax
The public and press
couldn’t care any less
so forget it, that’s all in the past
(Refrain)

Bowling Green coverage was lax,
but now that we’ve issued the facts
the Circuit Court Judge
who wouldn’t be budged
will be bringing my Muslim ban back
(Refrain)

Vetting in the aftermath,
based on dozens of terrorist acts,
will bar Yemen and Syria,
Somalia and Libya,
Sudan and Iran and Iraq
(Refrain)

I’ll repeal the ObamaCare Act
toss that nonsense into the trash
The poor and oppressed
will have open access
to the privatized plan we’ll enact
(Refrain)

The Mexican Wall is on track
and they’ll pay for it all, so relax
An astute business man,
I have things well in hand
Under sanctions, Nieto will crack
(Refrain)

Ignore all the Standing Rock whacks
set on blocking the pipeline contract
Army Corps engineers
say there’s nothing to fear
There’ll be no ecologic impact
(Refrain)

And by the way,

Ivanka did not get the axe
At Nordstrom’s, she’s selling like crack
So don’t wait to peruse
her fine jewelry and shoes;
they’re flying right off of the racks!
(Refrain)

Have a comment?  Click HERE to share it!

20 thoughts on “MORE AAACKS THAN BILL THE CAT!

    • Just Joan February 19, 2017 / 4:29 pm

      Thanks, PBX! Carrying the rhyme with “facts” all the way through wasn’t easy, included lots of slant rhyme, but with ten verses, what do you expect? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. chevvy8 February 19, 2017 / 11:58 am

    Wow Joan you’re brilliant! But based on the lyrics, sounds like you need a sombre melody to go with you. I guess this is one of the ways to make your voice heard but this train looks like it’s running full steam. Enjoy your week my dear. I’m going to be more employed than I was last year so I’ll have to work on a blogging schedule. Chevvy🌹

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan February 19, 2017 / 4:43 pm

      Thanks, Chev. The melody (since the song tells the story in Trump’s voice) would probably be gleeful or demanding. I picture him swinging a heavy pendant on a chain back and forth as he chants the refrain, trying to hypnotize his audience. Mine is a small voice, but who knows who is hearing it. Maybe it is just providing humor or helping someone get through the day. Maybe a few Trump supporters will read it and go, “Hmmmm… that DOES sound pretty ridiculous.” Hope the pace of your schedule still allows for Sunday Night Coming Down and a poem now and then. I know folks are busy, so I try to limit my posts to one a week. I never really had time to write when I was working FT and running a household. Maybe there are people who can write a novel in 5 minutes a day while they’re on the toilet, but I am not one of them and suspect you are not, either. Looking forward to listening to your Sunday picks later. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • chevvy8 February 19, 2017 / 5:06 pm

        Oh Joan, you have me in stitches😀 It sounds like a cartoon performance. We have plenty of our own I can assure you.

        I will probably have to reduce my time on the blog since I know that I can get out of balance very easily. The music is not so bad. It’s keeping up with everyone and writing that’s demanding but I’ll try to catch up over weekends. I still have lots of flexibility to work from home for part of the time which important to me but again, needs to be managed. Enjoy the rest of your evening my dear.😀

        Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan February 19, 2017 / 4:53 pm

      Thanks, Marissa! The music I hear for this one sounds like a carousel, or some kind of carnival ride that twirls around and around, goes nowhere, and causes you to throw up. Or maybe a hypnotic chant that makes the audience thirsty for Kool-Aid. Perhaps the Cheesebergens could compose a nice, acid rock rendition to dissolve the thick skulls of all the people out there who are JUST NOT GETTING IT. 🙂

      Like

  2. L. T. Garvin, Author February 19, 2017 / 10:42 pm

    Love this one, Joan! So funny. He does give us a lot of material 😀 I really love the line about Ivanka’s clothes selling better than crack, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan February 20, 2017 / 11:38 am

      Thanks, Lana. Ivanka’s stuff IS flying off the racks at Nordstroms, but not for the reason Trump would have you believe. Sad that he is ruining his own family in his quest for power and glory. Sadder still that we Americans have seen the little man behind the curtain, yet many continue to believe he’s a wizard. Willful blindness is the worst kind, you can’t fix it. 🙂

      Like

      • L. T. Garvin, Author February 20, 2017 / 10:32 pm

        Wow, I didn’t know her stuff was flying off the shelves, but I assume as attractive as she is, she, herself, is probably the biggest selling factor especially now that there are photos of her out everyday. You are so right about Trump, I live in (Texas) where the majority support him no matter what. It is truly unbelievable. I like your term, “willful blindness,” that’s a great way to put it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Just Joan February 21, 2017 / 11:17 am

        Nordstrom’s was clearing their shelves by discontinuing Ivanka’s line as a means of political protest. Kellyanne Conway reportedly told her audience to “buy Ivanka’s stuff” and is now in trouble for trying to profit through use of her official position. That stanza was yet another alternative fact. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. T. Wayne February 20, 2017 / 4:30 pm

    I liken it to the old fable the Emperor’s New Clothes. At some point the people need to realize that there’s nothing there, right?

    Loved this one, again had me laughing out loud! In the end, there’s alternative facts, damned alternative facts, and statistics. Always statistics. And according to the minions in the White House, even those can become alternative facts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan February 20, 2017 / 5:19 pm

      Thanks, T Wayne. There were oh, so many “alternative facts” to choose from, couldn’t believe it wound up having ten verses! As for people realizing there’s nothing there, I am slowly seeing that people are a lot stupider than I gave them credit for. They watched it rain during the inaugural speech and will tell you it didn’t, because Trump and Spicey said it didn’t. The more outrageous it gets, the more stubbornly they cling to Trump’s lies. I wish I knew how to snap them out of their trance, TW, I really do. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan February 23, 2017 / 5:57 pm

      Thanks, 227! I am participating in a group poetry reading in “Blue Dot” Ohio this weekend and my hubby wants me to perform this one. I’m nervous about Republicans in the crowd, since it’s on a Saturday and there will probably be out-of-towners in attendance. So glad Dog #4 is OK, btw. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

