A COUPLE OF UPDATES

orchid-sept

I did a post about orchids in July, about a week after mine bloomed.  Those gorgeous flowers have lasted over two months.  This week, as they began to shrivel and die, I was feeling a bit depressed.  I’d have to wait a whole year for it to blossom again.  I grabbed my camera to take one last photo and as I zoomed in, I noticed something I hadn’t before:  two additional buds!  (See them?  Over on the left?)  Which means my intrepid little plant may still be sitting pretty on Thanksgiving…  one more lovely thing to be grateful for this year!

norman_grace

The second update is about Grace Norman of Jamestown, Ohio, the Olympic athlete who was the subject of my poem Fifty Feet from GraceGrace competed in the Paralympic games in Rio
in September.  She kicked butt, taking the GOLD MEDAL in the triathlon and the BRONZE in the 400-meter run.  You talk about a hometown girl making good!  Go, Grace!

Have a comment?  Click HERE to share it!

11 thoughts on “A COUPLE OF UPDATES

    • Just Joan October 2, 2016 / 2:29 pm

      Indeed. Nothing like sharing a little good news 🙂

      Like

  1. Sandra Perez-Odeh October 2, 2016 / 9:01 am

    Go Grace! Also, my orchid which i thought had gone has been growing so many new stems. Thank you Joan.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan October 2, 2016 / 2:30 pm

      You’re welcome, Sandra! Orchids require a long wait to re-bloom, but worth it. Keep watering and have faith. 🙂

      Like

  2. circumstance227 October 3, 2016 / 4:21 pm

    I have an orchid somewhere in my house. I should really go look for that thing. See how it is doing . . .
    So . . . are you sticking around on WP after all?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan October 3, 2016 / 6:26 pm

      Just an update. There may be more to come, but nothing on a regular basis. 🙂

      Like

  3. chevvy8 October 5, 2016 / 2:57 am

    Oh Joan, there is always something to be grateful for and the more we take note of, the more we welcome new blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan October 5, 2016 / 2:41 pm

      Right you are, Chev. Simply slowing down and paying attention reaps many rewards. So glad to see you here. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • chevvy8 October 5, 2016 / 3:50 pm

        My pleasure Joan. I’ll catch up with you further as soon as I have time. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. L. T. Garvin, Author October 7, 2016 / 2:53 pm

    Two great things indeed. I had an orchid once, it lived for awhile. I never did anything other than give it some water. Glad yours may stick around for awhile.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan October 10, 2016 / 7:41 pm

      The new buds are getting bigger every day. I’ll post a photo when it blooms. I don’t think they like to be fussed over… a little water, a little filtered sun, and voila! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

