POETIC THERAPY: RUST

Taking a stab at a new-to-me form:  the Ghazal

RUSTY WIND

Autumn kisses the trees with a rusty wind
exhaled from October’s lungs, a lusty wind

Grabbing loose garden soil by the fistful
Whirling mini-tornadoes in the dusty wind

Bending sunflowers into cruel yoga poses
Yanking petals off zinnias, the gusty wind

Arm-twisting the laundry on the line until
it gives in, surrendering to the crusty wind

Women parade in body-hugging sweaters
as men savor the shapes of the busty wind

Old curmudgeon hollers at kids on his lawn
It mellows and dies away on the fusty wind

A child’s hat is snatched and tumbles along
a loss blamed, as always, on the trusty wind

Invisibly dancing with everything in its path,
it shows itself; come, you must see the wind

Have a comment?  Click HERE to share it!

Want to participate in weekly POETIC THERAPY?
Click HERE to view the rules of engagement.

16 thoughts on “POETIC THERAPY: RUST

    • Just Joan September 6, 2016 / 8:45 am

      Thanks, Marissa. Autumn is definitely my favorite season, even with its lusty winds. 🙂

      Like

      • Marissa Bergen September 6, 2016 / 4:48 pm

        I have never yet gotten over that sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach knowing it was back to school time. Otherwise, I may have to agree.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. LiteraryFuzz September 6, 2016 / 4:18 am

    What a lovely poem and an intriguing form. This is the first time I’ve come across a Ghazal. I particularly like the fact that you’ve decided to rhyme using the penultimate word of every line, a nice little rhyme-refrain scheme. Great work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan September 6, 2016 / 8:43 am

      Thanks, Jordan. Love “penultimate”–great word! I came across a Ghazal here on WordPress; I’ve been wanting to try one. The rhyme scheme/refrain is part of the form. The refrain can be longer, two or three words, and the rhyme would directly precede it. Looking forward to other responses, and next week’s challenge.

      Liked by 1 person

      • LiteraryFuzz September 6, 2016 / 9:52 am

        I think I’m definitely going to give it a go now I know how it’s set out. Thank you very much. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Tippy Gnu September 6, 2016 / 9:07 am

    I love this little poem. When I read it, I want to put on a light jacket.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan September 6, 2016 / 9:45 am

      Thanks, Tippy. I am “blown away” by this poetry form, so simple and yet so challenging.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan September 7, 2016 / 6:22 pm

      Thanks, you “got” exactly what I was trying to convey. Always a pleasure to see you here, 227! 🙂

      Like

  3. kamunde October 19, 2016 / 1:23 am

    Beautiful poem, i had to share it . I particularly love “Invisibly dancing with everything in its path,
    it shows itself; come, you must see the wind”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan October 19, 2016 / 8:33 am

      Thanks, Aston. That is one of my favorites, esp the lines you chose. Thanks for sharing it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

