TOO PRETTY TO EAT?

My orchid just flowered for the third time — four beautiful yellow blossoms.  In the filtered light of our bay window, she disregards my brown thumbs and chugs along in her half-cup of dirt, requiring only
a thorough soaking with water every two weeks.  I give her maximum points for hardiness, and admire her uncanny ability to thrive in such suboptimal circumstances.

orchid

Orchids always remind me of Thailand.  My husband and I vacationed in Bangkok almost twenty years ago.  One evening, we and several others from our tour group splurged on dinner at a five-star restaurant in the Oriental Hotel.  The service was exquisite.  Beverages practically refilled themselves.  Soiled ashtrays (smoking was permitted back then) were promptly covered, removed, and replaced.  When a guest exited the restroom, a matron quietly slipped in to remove the used towel from the wastebasket and refold the loose end of the toilet paper into a welcoming triangle.  A captain and his team of three waiters set our plates before us and lifted their silver covers off at precisely the same instant.  Afterward, the staff hovered a few feet from the table, ready to whisk away the empty plates.  My husband’s entrée was garnished with an edible flower—a gorgeous pink orchid—which he popped into his mouth at the end of the meal.  The youngest of the waiters did a double-take, then let out an involuntary snicker.  He raced back to the kitchen holding his sides, doing his level best to maintain the dignified demeanor expected of him.  The captain apologized profusely for the boy’s behavior.  He was new, we were told, and this was the first time he (or any of them, for that matter) had ever seen such a thing.  We waved off the apology and left a generous tip.  To this day, when I spy orchids for sale in our grocery store’s flower shop, I giggle to myself and ponder whether they ought to be located in the produce depart-ment instead.

Have a comment?  Click HERE to share it!

8 thoughts on “TOO PRETTY TO EAT?

    • Just Joan July 17, 2016 / 11:35 am

      I can picture you with a bright pink orchid petal stuck in your teeth, dying for some floss. 🙂

      Like

  1. Tippy Gnu July 17, 2016 / 9:46 am

    I didn’t know they were edible. I’ll remember that next time our cupboards are low. I’ve always liked orchids. They are a beautiful flower, and now I realize they have a practical value also.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan July 17, 2016 / 11:46 am

      Mine cost $12 and has produced 13 flowers in 3 blooming cycles (over 2 years)–pretty low yield. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  2. circumstance227 July 17, 2016 / 1:42 pm

    I flew on Thai Airlines once. After boarding, a flight attendant knelt down by my seat and pinned an orchid on my blouse. I thought it was weird at first, but the scent was so nice for the entire long flight.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just Joan July 17, 2016 / 2:16 pm

      How cool is that? I thought maybe that’s what you got instead of peanuts, to snack on during the flight. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

