THINGS WORTH A DOUBLE-TAKE

where the sidewalk continues
I’m sure Shel Silverstein would appreciate the juxtaposition pictured here:  a place where the street ends, and the sidewalk keeps going.

On my way to work, I often saw the same man behind the wheel of his dilapidated old Jeep.  One day when we were stopped at a traffic light,
I noticed his license tag.  It said MAKN DO, a sentiment that seemed both fitting and frivolous.  I had to wonder… is it really “making do” to drive around a hoopty-mobile adorned with a personalized plate?

We treated our vegetarian grandmother to dinner at a Vietnamese restaurant.  She bit into a dumpling and abruptly spit it out, insisting it had meat inside.  Despite the server’s repeated assurances that they contained only mushrooms and vegetables, she could not bring herself to eat them.  At the end of the meal, she discreetly slid the uneaten dumplings into her to-go box, leaving me completely puzzled.

A few months ago, I got a FaceBook friend request from a stranger.  I went to her page to see if I knew any of her friends.  And they were all named JOAN.  Like, thirty of them.  Spine-chilling creepy.  DOO-DOO, doo-doo, DOO-DOO, doo-doo… something out of The Twilight Zone!

On a recent RV trip home, we asked my parents if we could use their washer and dryer to do our laundry.  Mom had just purchased her first front-loader and passed along some advice she had read in the manual:  this type of machine uses significantly less water, so don’t worry if the finished pieces are not wet:  they are clean.  Say what??!!  I’ve owned a front loader for years and this was news to me!

On the observation deck at King’s Island, I noticed a little boy peering intently into a coin-operated viewing machine.  It was pointed at the sky and I wondered what he found so fascinating.  Thinking I might have a look myself, I asked his mother how much it had cost.  “I don’t know,” she replied, “I didn’t put any money in it.”

Just the other day, I saw a man walking down the street with his dog.  He repeatedly kicked a red ball a few feet ahead of them and while the dog retrieved it, he yakked away on his cell phone and sipped coffee from a big open ceramic mug without spilling a drop.  He was a three-ring circus in motion, a daring act from which I could not look away.

Have a comment?  Click HERE to share it!

3 thoughts on “THINGS WORTH A DOUBLE-TAKE

  1. mkrampien November 15, 2015 / 9:56 am

    Love this! My laughter as I read has thoroughly awakened me from my Sunday morning sleepiness.

    Like

  2. Sharon November 15, 2015 / 9:07 pm

    Your life has taken on a macabre twist… if this is what retirement looks like, I hope I work til I’m 90!

    Like

Leave a Reply

